They Say

I only have brothers. But when the last night
tears loose, flies

blind through the smoke beyond this
realm of air, my sister

will sit with me. Will stitch
ruffles in my ashes, comb my hair, part

the ether between this world and all that —
pull me through properly. She will.

One thought on “They Say

  1. “will stitch ruffles in my ashes” .. what a line , Rose! Another layer of ache added!

    It don’t matter
    what they say now
    I know you will
    pull me out

    thread me through
    this needle
    sew up all
    the doubt.

Leave a Reply

