Flowers in Chains on Independence Day

 

Courtesy of Freddie Moore

When I planted these flowers, it didn’t even occur to me that they’d grow behind bars.  But on looking at this photo it hit me:  How many of us imprison ourselves without even realizing it? 

As for me, I used to live behind the bars of the familiar, hesitating to go anywhere new.  My excuse was that I’d get lost.  Finally, a fed-up friend shamed me into learning to navigate.  After all, if my two Grandpa Charlies and my Grandmas Ida and Rose could make it to the USA from the Ukraine, surely I could figure out how to reach remote parts of Brooklyn.  Here’s to them:  Click Here.

 Happy 4th of July!

Leave a Reply

